Charleroi SC – Union SG : 0-1

Union SG went to the Stade du Pays de Charleroi this evening. The Zebras wanted to stop the Unionists’ unbeaten run and wanted to keep the three points at home. Nilsson was in the starting line-up and would once again be our golden boy.

After less than 5 minutes of play, Union had already forced 2 corners and that set the tone for the rest of the game.

Lapoussin warned the opponents early on, but Koffi was alert enough to stop the shot. The Unionists were the masters of the game in the first quarter of an hour and Mazzu’s team mainly tried to score on the counter-attack. It seemed calm as the half progressed, but the visitors dominated the majority of play.

Just before the half hour mark, Nilsson was unable to deceive Koffi, but a few moments later, he smashed the ball in the back of the net from the left, 0-1 (24′). Unionist dominance had resulted in more than a handful of chances. First, Boniface had his chance in the box and so did Lapoussin, who easily turned away from 2 men, but he was unable to capitalize. Nilsson’s goal elevated Union’s spirit going into the second half.

Hosseinzadeh took the first shot after the break. An excellent opportunity for the Carolos who put it just above the crossbar. Charleroi tried to gain the upper hand and started creating decent play. The home team changed a number of players to try and slip through the Union defense, but it was above all, the fierce duels on both sides of the pitch that characterized this second half. time. A final offensive did not materialize at the Stade du Pays, however, Union again took home three points. This takes their unbeaten streak to 15 and keeps them trailing leaders Genk.

The next match for our Unionists takes place at the Joseph Marienstadion on Wednesday, February 1st (8:45 p.m.) in the Croky Cup against Antwerp FC.

Allez l’Union !

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est StartingXI.jpg.

49. Moris
02. Nieuwkoop
07. Boniface
08. Lazare
10. Teuma (C)
16. Burgess
20. Lynen
29. Nilsson
44. Van der Heyden
59. Kandouss
94. Lapoussin